John C. Crowell Award

Awarded for best Masters and Doctoral thesis in sedimentology/stratigraphy by a graduate student nominated either by faculty advisor, department chair at home geology department, PS-SEPM Awards Committee, or SEPM Faculty Representative, who is familiar with student’s (s’) work. Evaluated by members of PS-SEPM Awards Committee.  Presented at the Annual Spring Conference.

2014 Awardees
Best Ph.D. dissertation
1st – Grant Shimer (Univ. of Alaska, Fairbanks) – Sedimentology and stratigraphy of the Nanushuk Formation and related foreland basin deposits, central Brooks Range foothills, Alaska
2nd – Carie M. Frantz (Univ. of Southern California) – Stromatolites as biosignatures and paleoenvironmental records: experiments with modern mats and examples from the Eocene Green River Formation
3rd – Karl A. Lang (Univ. of Washington) – Persistent exhumation of the eastern Himalayan syntaxis
Best M.S. thesis
1st – Annie G. Mosher (Cal State Long Beach) – Detailed lithostratigraphic characterization of Chico Martinez Creek, California